An Essential Guide To Understanding Chakras For Greater Happiness

Chakras and Emotional Stability


The psychological importance of chakras 

“When you touch the celestial in your heart, you will realize that the beauty of your soul is so pure, so vast, and so devastating that you have no option but to merge with it. You have no option but to feel the rhythm of the universe in the rhythm of your heart.” – Amit Ray.

Chakras And Emotions 

Our emotions are the body’s reactions to our thoughts. Thoughts and emotions are the driving forces that narrate our story, dictates our day, maintain our relationship and interpret the physical world. It’s therefore important to ensure emotional stability, shut the inside chaos and thrive in life. 

A study published on Evidence-Based Complementary and Alternative Medicine discusses the non-visible energy of the chakra system. The author explains, “The chakras are the energy transducers for subtle energy. Subtle energy is a healing energy that anyone can learn to perceive and utilize. It is a crucial but often missing component in health care.”  Chakra healing is thus a great way to deepen your connection within and thrive with greater happiness.   


Root Chakra

Starting from the bottom, we have the root chakra that sits at the base of our spine and represents the foundation. Whenever the root chakra is open, we feel positive to endure difficulties and take care of ourselves. 

When it’s blocked, we feel undermined, unhappy and unsteady. Balancing poses like Mountain or Warrior pose help unblock root chakra. 

Sacral Chakra

Next, we have the sacral chakra, which represents a person’s creative and sexual energy. In addition, intuitiveness, self-worth, compassion, adaptability, and the ability to recognize our emotions and others around us. Its energy grants admittance to adaptability and joy. 

Those with a blocked sacral chakra could feel an absence of control in their lives which may cause emotional outbursts. Bridge pose or Lizard pose help in its balancing.

Solar Chakra

The solar plexus chakra, when open, shows strength in self-esteem and productivity and may cause depression and low self-esteem when imbalanced. 

One can use the Boat pose or the Triangle pose for its balancing.

Heart Chakra

The heart chakra is related to unrestricted love, sympathy, and satisfaction; adoration for ourselves and others, sympathy, compassion, and forgiveness. Imbalance here is believed to cause outrage, absence of trust, tension, envy, dread, and irritability. It can cause us to feel downcast, inconsistent, and disengaged when crooked. 

And so, the heart chakra is essential to achieve happiness and peace in life. Camel pose or Cow face pose can be used to open your heart chakra. 

Throat Chakra

As one might’ve guessed, the throat chakra lends us the voice to express and articulate our thoughts, feelings, and desires. It gives us the capability to communicate and get ourselves heard. When balanced, it regulates the flow of hormones. 

Whereas its imbalance leaves one unable to navigate through difficult conversations, speaking before thinking and not being able to speak up at all. The Plow pose or Fish pose helps balance it.

Third Eye

The third-eye chakra is said to be the eye of the soul. When opened, it becomes our intuition, imagination, and wisdom, and sees what can not be seen with ordinary sense perception. 

It goes beyond the surface-level and earthly connections and opens the door to a far deeper vision. The forward fold is great for this one.

Crown Chakra 

The most spiritual of chakras sits on the top of our heads and is duly named the crown chakra. It represents spirituality, personhood, inner wisdom, and energetic thoughts. 

Consequently, its imbalance can cause depression, anxiety, disconnect from one’s surroundings, and frustrations. The Corpse pose is recommended for this one.

Quit Tip: Keep a journal with yourself. Write down any conflicting feelings or troubling thoughts you’re going through. Identify the core emotion and then heal the chakra associated with it. For instance, if you’re struggling to vocalize your thoughts it means your throat chakra is blocked. So by identifying the emotion you can recognize which chakra needs your most attention. This practice would help you to move step by step and prioritize your needs instead of working on all chakras together, overwhelming yourself even more. 

Blog Data


Social Facebook Data


Social Twitter Data


Social Instagram Data


Additional Media Attached




External Source url


Author Info


Blog Layout


Category Blog